dinner in a pumpkin

My coworker Julie gave me this recipe. I think it sounds fun to make and to eat out of a pumpkin! We’re carving pumpkins tonight and this just needed to be made! I think I’ll probably add whatever else I have in my fridge, too, as I see fit though. (And I have actually altered the recipe Julie gave me just because I have cream of celery and no celery to chop up. I traded out 1 can cream of chicken & 1 cup of chopped celery for just 1 can of cream of celery.)

Also, I saved my seeds to toast w/ salt later. Love me some toasted pumpkin seeds! 🙂

2 lbs ground beef
1 tsp salt
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup diced green peppers (I’m using red & yellow too b/c I have those)
2 cups cooked rice (I’m using brown rice, but white could work)
1 medium pumpkin (needs to fit in the oven)
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1 4oz. can mushrooms, drained
1 can cream of celery soup

Cut off the top of the pumpkin, clean out seeds & pulp. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Brown and drain ground beef. Add salt, onion, and pepper. Cover and simmer until vegetables are fork tender. Add soy sauce, brown sugar, mushrooms, soup, and rice. Mix together. Put mixture in pumpkin and replace top. Place pumpkin on baking sheet. Bake 1 hour or until pumpkin is tender. As you serve, be sure to scoop out a little pumpkin. Makes 6-8 servings.

NOTE: I made this last night and it was really good! I really like the flavor the soy sauce gives it! I added some black eyed peas I had in my fridge. I also thought I had cream of celery at home, but I didn’t, so I just used cream of mushroom. The different peppers added an awesome color to it. Very fall-esque! This dish was served w/ wheat rolls (homemade by Elise, she also processes her own grain!) and Southern style, French-cut green beans (by Sarah).

IMG_2082

Hot out of the oven!

IMG_2080

Beautiful!

IMG_2081

The inside filling after it had baked 1 hour.

IMG_2083

Some of the guys eating & carving.

The girls eating
Leave a Reply

