meatloaf hand

So my good friend Carmen (Hi CJ!) sent me an  email forwards with some pics of a hand. Not just any ole handeither, it was made of meat! But it looked like a dead person’s hand! I was making meatloaf for my small group that night anyway and it was 2 days before Halloween. So it was ONLY appropriate that I make my meatloaf into a hand!

I had all my ingredients for the meatloaf plus an onion for the decorations. I think the meat hand pics used cheese on the hand, but I like ketchup on my meatloaf. I tried to let it brown but I didn’t put the ketchup on early enough. I’ll share with you my secret family recipe for meatloaf, but it might not turn out exactly like mine. Honestly, mine tastes a little different each time.

Start with 1 lb of ground meat (you can use beef, turkey, or chicken. I love turkey meatloaf).  In a large bowl, put in completely defrosted meat, 1 egg, some oatmeal, some ketchup, and some salt. Now this is where it’s always different. I’m a Southern girl, and I learned to cook from my mom and my dad. They learned from their moms. We don’t measure most ingredients for recipes (unless it’s absolutely necessary). Just add the amount you think looks good. You probably want about equal amounts of ketchup and oatmeal though. And too much might make it fall apart. Too little will make it not loaf-y enough. You can also add onions here. I love onions in my meatloaf!

Put in oven on 375 degrees. Cook for about 30 minutes. Pull out (with beef, you may want to drain some of the grease. Be careful though, you could lose the meatloaf to the sink). Add ketchup to the top and smear it around. Place back in the oven for 10-15 more minutes. Allow to set for 5 minutes before cutting and serving.

Now for the hand… The email used a mold. I molded mine with my hands. I started with the palm, but I kinda made it too big so I had to keep taking some of it off. I formed the thumb and attached it and then just made my way around with the fingers. I sliced off some onions to make it look like an old, long fingernail. Then I chopped off a thick slice of onion and poked out about 1/2 to 2/3 of the middle to use for the bone at the wrist. I cooked it like I would the recipe, but I didn’t get it out early enough to add the ketchup. I had wanted to let the ketchup really brown. I guess it might have worked better by just adding the ketchup before I even put it in. The onions toasted a little and shriveled up some and just looked awesome!!! Everybody thought it was really neat and yummy 🙂

The Claw

One response to “meatloaf hand

  1. Good job Kim! Looks “gross” enough to eat! : )

Leave a Reply

