onion soup

I made homemade onion soup a few nights ago. I really enjoyed it. I think my husband did too. I was afraid he wouldn’t, so I made him a grilled turkey & cheese to go with his soup. The leftovers are just as good, too. It made quite a bit for just the two of us! Also, my husband has asthma and onions are supposed to be good for asthma. So, I’m glad he liked my soup! I plan to make it more often. It’s very cheap and easy to make.

I used a recipe from the Huntsville Heritage Cookbook, but I’m going to change up the recipe to what I did and what I want to do for the next time I make it.

You will need:
4 medium onions, cut in half and sliced
2 tablespoons butter
7 beef bouillon cubes
6 1/2 cups water
6-8 slices bread (wheat is preferred)
Parmesan cheese, to taste
salt, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, to taste
1 pot
1 saute pan

Saute onions in the butter. Dissolve the bouillon cubes into the water on medium heat to make the beef broth (I use an extra bouillon cube with only 1/2 cup of water to give it more flavor). Add sauteed onions to beef broth. Stir. Add salt, pepper, and Worcestershire as desired. Turn heat to medium-high, bring to a boil. Turn heat down to low and allow to simmer for 30 minutes. Start toasting bread about 15 minutes before it is done. Toast each slice twice. Cut into 9 pieces. Fill each bowl with 9 pieces of toast. Add desired about of cheese. Add onion soup and top with about a tablespoon more of cheese. Serve immediately. Makes 6-8 servings.

Leave a Reply

