focus

So what’s my focus for doing all this purging? I think I just need to write this out so I can keep my focus for the times I get frustrated because I can’t make a decision or I get rid of something that I meant to keep. I’m very excited and anxious to get started. I wish I could right now. But when I walk in my door at home, I get so overwhelmed by what needs to be done. But that’s just it. It needs to be done.

My initial reason before I left for Rwanda to downsize my house was to keep it clean. I didn’t realize exactly how and why my life would be changed in Rwanda, but I knew it would. So I wanted to start early. I’ve been cleaning out my house for years. But I’ve also been adding to it for years. I’m tired of spending money on random crap just to throw it out later. I feel like it has become an addiction.

Now my focus includes purging my house because I want less stuff mostly. I want less stuff so I don’t have to worry about cleaning so much. I want less stuff because I want to do my hobbies. I want less stuff so I can focus on Jesus. I want less stuff so I can focus on sharing Jesus with others. Those are in no particular order. I just want less stuff.

I made a list of my focuses. I took the idea from Small Notebook. I think it’s just very important to start out with WHY you’re doing something. This list IS in a particular order.

1. Spiritual
-Love God.
-Share Jesus with others.
-Worship God.
-Read my bible.
-Pray.

2. Nate
-Love him.
-Encourage him.
-Serve him.

3. Our life.
-Clean and maintain house.
-Groceries. Eat well.
-Pay bills. Manage finances.
-Relax.

4. Me
-Rest.
-Hobbies and interests.
-Health and appearance.
-Social interaction.

5. Everyone else
-Opportunities to serve.
-Communication.
-Time together.
-Love.

Some of those are straight off her list. I just liked them so much and thought they fit my life.

Rest is huge!! I don’t just rest. I always feel like I have something to do. Even with this purge, I’m going to rest. If I am tired, I will rest. Nate is SO good about telling me I need to rest. I don’t realize it because I want to get something done. But that usually burns me out. Rest. It’s important.

After coming back from Rwanda, I realized how little I actually share Jesus with people. I want that to be a huge focus in my life. I want to rely on nothing but God. I want to show people that you can do that. I want to live it. I want to be an encouragement to others. But first, I want to have my focus there. I don’t feel like I can do that with the state my house is in.

Leave a Reply

